2008 WiPHoF Induction Ceremony

Inaugural Class of 2008

Inductees Barbara Enright, Linda Johnson, Marsha Waggoner, and Susie Isaacs

This was a fabulous and memorable event for all who attended. Our friends in the media were in full force and have done a fine job covering the festivities as they happened. The following is in the words of Lizzy Harrison.

The Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHOF) is the brainchild of Founder, Lupe Soto. “As I learned of the amazing trailblazers in poker, I felt the world needed to recognize them for their contributions!” Said Soto.  The four inaugural inductees were honored this past weekend during a ceremony held in Benny’s Bullpen. The goal of the WiPHOF is to celebrate and enhance the awareness of contributions and achievements of women in poker as recognized by respected representatives of women in poker. The WiPHOF is sponsored by Card Player Magazine.

The initial members are Barbara Enright, Linda Johnson, Marsha Waggoner, and Susie Isaacs. The master of ceremonies for the induction was World Poker Tour commentator Mike Sexton, with Jan Fisher acting as the keynote speaker.

To be considered for induction into the WiPHOF, women must meet certain criterion. Firstly, they must have been a poker player or industry leader for fifteen years prior to their election. They also must have made significant contributions to the poker industry. The last element that all women in the WiPHOF must share is that they have to support women in poker. Even if they do not play women’s tournaments, they must support their existence.

The WiPHOF board is made up of dedicated women in the game. The Board makes the final decisions in regards to the inductees. Lupe Soto, is the Board Chair said during the ceremony, “It’s definitely time for the women in poker to have their own hall of fame to recognize the amazing contributions in the poker world.”

Mike Sexton
Keynote Speaker
Jan Fisher
Keynote Speaker
Attendees of the 2008 Induction Ceremony

Card Player’s own Allyn Jaffrey Shulman is also on the board. The other members are professional poker player Karina Jett, professional poker player and industry leader Maureen Feduniak, and the director of marketing for Ocean’s Eleven Casino Suzanne Carter.

The induction ceremony this past Saturday was followed by a $500 buy-in tournament at Binion’s. The open event (meaning both men and women played) was appropriately won by Enright.

Barbara Enright Wins Inaugural Women in Poker Hall of Fame Celebration Tournament! 

Enright was inducted, and then goes on to win the celebration tournament.

Las Vegas, NV February 5, 2008 — 2008 Women in Poker Hall of Fame (WiPHOF)  Inductee Barbara Enright topped off the celebration of the Induction Ceremony and Luncheon held at Binion’s Las Vegas by winning the First Annual WiPHOF Celebration Poker Tournament.Ladies International Poker Series (LIPS Tour) founder Lupe Soto stated, “This is just a testament to the professional poker player Barbara truly is and why she was selected to the WiPHOF in the first place!” She added, “Poker players from every level of skill participated, but it doesn’t surprise me that one of our inductees won this event.”

Poker legends Barbara Enright, Susie Isaacs, Linda Johnson, and Marsha Waggoner were inducted into the new Women in Poker Hall of Fame on February 2, 2008, at Binion’s Casino in Las Vegas. World Poker Tour commentator Mike Sexton was the Master of Ceremony. Professional poker player and industry leader Jan Fisher served as Keynote Speaker.

Two hundred members of the new Women in Poker Hall of Fame gathered to witness this historical event.  Poker dignitaries like Russ Hamilton, Tom McEvoy, Nolan Dolla, Matt Savage, JJ Liu, Kathy Liebert, Donna Harris, Kathy Raymond, Freddy Deeb, Barry Shulman, Janis Sexton, Dave Lamb, Doug Dalton, Deborah Giardina, Phyllis Caro, Kelley O’Hara and many more were present in support of these incredible Inductees.


Hall of Fame women talk poker
By Jason Kirk

Women in Poker Hall of Fame Inducts Inaugural Honorees
by PokerPages.com

Women’s Poker Spotlight: Four Inductees for the Women’s Poker Hall of Fame
By Tina Bergstrom